Inertia

I don’t particularly want to write tonight. I didn’t write yesterday, and that makes it even more difficult to come up with something today. I seem to work with some writing inertia pushing me along. When I stop, I stop.

So today I’m trying to write and it’s a struggle. I don’t know what to write about, and I don’t know where to begin. Everything is a distraction and I allow myself to be distracted too easily.

This isn’t a new problem. This is my procrastination and writer’s block all coming together and I just seize up. This is not a good thing for somebody who purports to be a professional writer. It’s what has kept me back for many years; it keeps me from finishing things and it keeps me from starting things.

I read something recently about writer’s block being a fear of rejection (this is a very rough summary of a good article somewhere) and I think there’s a very valid idea there. If you don’t write, you don’t show that you aren’t very good. When the novel or blog post is unwritten, you are a genius. When it’s out there, it’s out there. It’s there to be judged and criticized. That’s when everyone knows you’re a fraud.

Of course, getting things written is also the only way to succeed. There’s no possible success in not writing. Just a massive amount of frustration. Hopefully tomorrow writing will come a bit easier.

Tags: , , , , ,

About jeninher30s

A writer and procrastinator.
