Pimping Out My Husband

In general, I don’t mention my husband all that much on here. I figure the people who know me know him, and he has his own blog and all the usual crap about separate identities, blah blah blah. It’s as much for him as it is for me, because I know my personality and things I write aren’t always the best for selling his work.

But right now we’re in the midst of a Kickstarter, plus I’m about to have his kid, so I figure now’s a good time to talk about Adam, or at least the project he’s about to launch (hopefully).

For the past year, he’s done a 365 project, painting a canvas a day, the subject of each one being somebody famous. This has meant that, for a full year, I’ve had a daily questioning about whether a sketch captured the essence of a person. Most of the time I’ve known the person or character, but there have been a few where I gave a blank stare and did a quick Google Image search.

This is still one of my favourites from the project. It makes me laugh. Every. Single.  Time.

This is still one of my favourites from the project. It makes me laugh. Every. Single. Time.

Of course, he started that project without any warning. I remember us sitting in the living room, watching TV; as always, Adam was sketching and I was writing. He announced he wanted to do a canvas a day thing. I said it sounded like a cool idea. Neither of us thought it through.

We didn’t think about the fact that the house we were living in was getting pulled out from under us (our landlord was in foreclosure, so it was a ticking clock for when we’d have to move). We didn’t think about it being two months before all the obligatory days of celebration for Christmas. We didn’t think about all the good and bad things that can happen in a year that might make it so you don’t want to paint a canvas by midnight.

But he did it. He made it through all 365 days. Around day 250, we were already discussing the ‘what next’ question. (Mainly because we were both getting asked what he’d be doing next, so figured we should have some sort of answer.) Of course, by then, we were well on our way to having our kid. (Not entirely sure how we timed it so well, but I officially hit full term on the day after the project ended.)

 

 

Along with brainstorming ideas for a new project — the only certainty was that doing a daily canvas wasn’t going to be an option with a newborn in the house — we also started talking about things that would be cool to produce to commemorate the end of the first project. With a list of thing to whittle down, it became clear the only way to do it was to launch a Kickstarter campaign. Neither of us had ever run one before.

So now we’re approaching the final 24 hours of the campaign and still need to get backers for another £635 to reach the goal. Ever the worrier, I’m shitting myself while Adam gets on with things that need to be done.

The new project would be a canvas a week, which will allow him to work on a bigger scale and mix in fine art pieces. Over the past year, he hasn’t been able to do many fine art style pieces, simply because painting a small canvas every day while also dealing with everything life throws at us takes up most of his waking hours.

Adam at work on day 364's canvas. He finished it around 11:50 that night and had to start on the final canvas a few minutes later.

Adam at work on day 364’s canvas. He finished it around 11:50 that night and had to start on the final canvas a few minutes later.

One thing that we both thought was missing from this year’s project was any kind of show. With canvases all selling in advance, there was no way to hold things back and put any exhibit together. Instead, they just got memorialised in the project’s page. That’s why having a show is part of this new project. It’s also something that isn’t necessarily going to be a gallery thing. With pop culture as a subject matter, the show could be better suited to an unexpected venue. Of course, that’s all stuff that costs money, which is another reason to do the Kickstarter campaign.

Anyway, if you haven’t checked out the work Adam does, do it now. And if you’re looking for some gifts for yourself or anyone else, check out the rewards you can snag through backing his Kickstarter (http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/mcleveyart/persona-project-20).

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About jeninher30s

A writer and procrastinator.
