Easy Cinnamon Roll Recipe

Cinnamon roll

My expat Thanksgiving weekend baking spree continues, this time with cinnamon rolls. It’s something I’ve wanted to have a go at for years. Living in the US, it was easy to just get the Pilsbury stuff in the popping tube and be happy with that. For some reason, the UK has only just gotten involved with those tubes, and so far it’s only just for dinner rolls.

So, with that, I’ve decided to make my own.

As usual, there was a lot of recipe reading and then a good deal of winging it. They turned out nice, and weren’t much trouble to assemble. I did another variation with coconut, which I might tweak a bit more before posting.

Before I get into the ingredients, I will say I did the dough in a breadmaker. I have one, and I use it for almost every bread dough I make. Using the dough setting, I get what I need without having to pay any attention. It also helps massively with keeping it the right temperature in a stupidly drafty house.

Cinnamon rolls

These are the thinner ones, baked up all nice and cinnamony.

Right… the recipe…

Easy and Awesome Cinnamon Rolls

The dough:

  • 300 ml warm water
  • 4-5 Tbsp sugar
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 3 Tbsp milk powder
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla
  • 1.5 tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • 600 g strong white flour
  • 1.5 tsp fast acting dry yeast

The cinnamon filling:

  • 75 g butter
  • 3 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 Tbsp demerara sugar
  • 2-3 Tbsp. cinnamon

Oven at 150-ish C

As mentioned, I used the breadmaker for the dough. If you have the inclination to do it all by hand, so be it. I got on with other work.

For my machine, I put the water, sugar, butter, milk powder, salt, egg, and vanilla in there, stirred it up a bit, then dumped the flour on top of it, and the yeast in a little hole on top of the flour.

I set it to the dough setting and waited.

When the dough was ready, I split it into three chunks. I rolled each piece out into a vague rectangle. (I did one version with thinner dough and one with thicker dough. Both were nice, with the thicker being bigger rolls and the thinner being more snack sized.)

I melted the butter and mixed in the sugars and cinnamon. I did want to throw in some pecans, but didn’t have any in the house. They’d work nicely, though, and the brown sugar could be upped a bit for a more caramel-y flavour with them.

With the cinnamon/sugar/butter paste mixed together, I slathered it evenly on the dough rectangle. I then tightly rolled the rectangle into one big roll, which I then sliced into chunks. With the thicker dough, I went for about 1 inch discs, and the thinner was about 1/2 to 3/4 inch discs.

I put the discs in a round cake pan. I baked the thicker ones right away, but left the thinner ones until the following morning. They can do with a bit of space around them, as they do puff up as the dough rises. Even as one giant pull-apart mess, they can be a great breakfast treat, though.

Both took about 15 to 20 minutes in the oven, depending on how done you want them.

While still warm from the oven, I put on a bit of a glaze — just butter, icing sugar, and a dash of vanilla. I tried two different ways, melting the butter and leaving the butter soft but not melted, and both worked about the same.

The rolls are nice, and the dough isn’t too sweet, which is a nice change from the premade ones that can hurt just thinking about the sugar.

Makes about three  8-inch cake pans worth of rolls.

Cinnamon roll

One of the little ones, pulled out from the rest. Look at all that cinnamon. It’s a perfect little holiday treat.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeninher30s

A writer and procrastinator.
