Nice oatmeal cookies: A stupidly simple recipe

Oatmeal cookies

It’s Thanksgiving and even though dinner’s going to be cajun spiced chicken breast since I couldn’t be bothered to do a big meal like last year (when we had the super duper expat fantastic Thanksgiving with more Americans than Brits, even when we didn’t count the baby Yank), it’s still a day for cooking.

I’m also playing around with cinnamon rolls, which are still unfinished in the kitchen and may or may not be food blogged later or tomorrow.

Anyway, I picked up a bag of stoneground oats from Aldi the other day because it was 35p. It’s not rolled oats, which I only keep for ingredient purposes, but more like small pieces of pinhead oats, which I actually do like.

Since then, I wanted to do something with them. Today I decided to play with an idea, and it worked out nicely.

Oatmeal cookies

Look at the inside of that… slightly crunchy with a gorgeous sweetness.

My original intention was to drizzle some chocolate on these, or make a strong coffee glaze, but I liked the cookies too much as they were. The cookies are pretty sweet, so I didn’t want to over sugar them with anything.

In the end, I melted down a few chunks of Green & Black 70% dark chocolate with espresso, and decided that I’d use it more as a decorative touch than as an added flavour.

All that said, the recipe is below, and is more measured than my usual style.

Too Damn Nice Oatmeal Cookies

100 grams unsalted butter

100 grams demerara sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

150 grams medium stoneground oatmeal

50 grams self raising flour

1 egg

Oven at 180ish C

In a heavy-bottomed saucepan over low heat, melt the butter with the sugar and vanilla. Don’t let it get too hot, just enough to melt the butter and begin to dissolve the sugar.

Add the oats and flour, and mix well. It’ll be a fairly gritty mix. Add the egg and mix thoroughly. You should end up with a dense dough.

Scoop the dough out in tablespoon-ish balls, flatten slightly on a cool baking sheet. (I used baking parchment on the sheets to be extra lazy.) Give them a bit of space, but don’t worry too much as they won’t spread loads.

Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until lightly golden around the edges. Take off sheets immediately and allow to cool on a wire rack.

Makes about 20 cookies.

Oatmeal cookies

The full plate shot of these scrummy little things.

Tags: , , , , ,

About jeninher30s

A writer and procrastinator.
