A week (1 of 52)

Saturday, 1 January 2011

Parish Church of St. Saviour, Puxton

I wandered a churchyard, looking for badger holes, trying not to photograph the other people who had decided that a wander around a graveyard and darkened church was the ideal way to ring in the year.

Amazingly, I didn’t fall over.

Sunday, 2 January 2011

#wineday

The first #wineday of the year was done properly. Six bottles of varying quality, Famous and Fearless (or vaguely having a recognisable surname and freaked out by a BMX, to be more accurate), and a gender-divided tinsel ball war. It was the type of #wineday that makes me want a #wineday every week.

It also included some modeling.

Monday, 3 January 2011

Treats

One of the days that has gotten away from me this week. A day that wasn’t a day, just a few moments. It was a Bank Hoilday, so even the things I thought we did, we didn’t do. There was a trip to Blockbuster, coffee with Viv and Jess, and several large snowflakes.

There was madness in the animal kingdom, brought on by new treats.

Tuesday, 4 January 2011

Clevedon

Before a night at the parents’ house for dinner and cards, there was a rambling drive through the country. Congresbury, Langford, past the Butcombe store, back to Congresbury, Yatton, Kingston Seymour, Kenn, Clevedon. We saw Junior Poon, were uninspired by the seafront.

Driving higher, as high as we could manage, I asked Adam to stop. We were high enough, and amidst cars still covered in snow, we took some photos. As we drove off, the cops were walking towards where we had been standing.

Wednesday, 5 January 2011

Lasagne

My best friend’s birthday, and another day that escaped. I got up for a doctor’s appointment, where I asked for physical therapy. I came home and fell asleep. I woke a few hours later, trudged through a bit of work, and then made a lasagne.

I went big. I used the roasting pan. Homemade sauce, layered with four types of cheese, sauteed spinach, seasoned mince (fake meat version, anyway), and plain and spinach pasta. I made use of the awkwardly green light of the range hood. It was several hours of a labour of love, and resulted in a wonderful dinner that is now broken into containers in the freezer for later meals.

Thursday, 6 January 2011

'Mother'

Why do so many days get away from me? I cleaned my office, or at least started, and bought some boards, dry erase and cork. I edited a chapter and wrote a bit and made paper-wrapped chicken for the freezer.

And Adam sketched, his first piece of the year drying above the place where the fire should be installed by now, but isn’t.

Friday, 7 January 2011

M5 Overpass

I finished a chapter draft and Adam finished his painting. We went out as the daylight ended, driving to an M5 overpass to take photos. The car parked in the driveway of a farm, hazard lights flashing, and we walked briskly to the actual overpass. Rush hour drivers sped past, spend under, honked, saw us standing there. As we walked back to the car, we could hear sirens

We don’t know if they were for us, and we didn’t get the shot that was needed in the end. We went to Morrisons, came home, and I scalded my arm with gravy. Tonight will be TV and maybe a bit of work on a new database, or maybe preparing PayPal links.

I had no desire to jump.

M5 Overpass

Tags: ,

About jeninher30s

A writer and procrastinator.

2 responses to “A week (1 of 52)”

  1. vivisunoriginal says :

    I’m almost certain that weekly #winedays could be arranged

  2. vivisunoriginal says :

    more frequent going out for coffee events could also be arranged

