A short note on writing and publishing

Since I last posted, I’ve given this whole writing thing a lot of thought. There have been interesting discussions (both in person and on various social networking media).

I’ve continued tossing around ideas such as interviews with people that are published as anonymous, allowing the interviewee to say even the most negative things. Could be interesting, but fairly impractical.

The end result of all of it has been that I need to think of something new and strange and actually interesting to read, and I will probably have to publish it myself.

So now I’m toying around with ideas.

At the moment, I’m doing research. This involves reading other publications and actually thinking about why I think they’re boring, pandering, same ol’ same ol’, and not what I want. It’s also a matter of figuring out whether, at some point, every publication becomes a mockery of itself.

I’m still thinking, but am slowly getting a better idea of what is missing from contemporary arts journalism. So that’s something. I guess.

About jeninher30s

A writer and procrastinator.

2 responses to “A short note on writing and publishing”

  1. vivisunoriginal says :

    sounds exciting, can’t wait to read the first issue

  2. stumblingupwards says :

    Good decision! Get the thinking cap firmly on!

