Coconut and Chocolate Chip Cake: A quick and easy recipe to soothe a pregnancy craving

One of the side effects of pregnancy that has hit me since before I even found out I was pregnant is something called dysgeusia. Many things haven’t quite tasted as they should (particularly chicken, lamb, and some cheeses), and I often have a weird taste in my mouth after eating things. The one thing that hasn’t been changed is my sweet tooth, which has left me with an almost medical need to have something sweet at the end of a meal (I might be self-medicating and self-diagnosing on that front, but who cares…).

The other day I really wanted something both coconutty and chocolatey. Luckily, having a ridiculously well-stocked pantry for all things baking, the solution was at hand. The result was a lovely coconut and chocolate chip cake that wasn’t too overwhelmingly heavy, though not exactly light.

IMG_1280[1]

As with everything I make, the recipe is all in ‘more or less’ terms. I sorta measure, but precision is boring. I also go with both US and UK measures for things (whichever is easier at the time), but there are plenty of good conversion sites around (I usually use PastryScoop).

Coconut and Chocolate Chip Cake

  • 150 g unsalted butter
  • 150 g sugar
  • 1.5 t vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 150 g self-rising flour
  • 100 g dessicated coconut
  • 100 g semi-sweet chocolate chips

Heat oven to Gas 4 (180 C or 350 F).

In a large, microwave-safe bowl (I used my beloved Pyrex mixing bowl), partially melt the butter so that it’s soft and a bit liquidy. (This step may have been included because the butter I left out to soften hadn’t softened much, but it worked out so go with it.)

Add sugar and vanilla and mix well.

Add eggs and mix well.

Add flour, coconut, and chocolate and mix well. (I said this was easy…)

The batter will be fairly thick in the end. Spoon into pan and level out with spatula. (The recipe should fit into an 8-inch round or medium loaf pan. I have a load of disposable foil trays — roughly 3 inches by 6 inches each — that I’ve been using for batch freezing, so used two of those. Baking time will obviously vary depending on what sort of pan used. I didn’t bother buttering the pans, but it might be worth using a pan liner or buttering a standard pan.)

Bake for 30 minutes or until top is golden and cake is set.

I let the cakes cool for about 10 minutes before diving in, so the chocolate chips were nice and melty still. It’s also been good as a next-day cake, though you get a lot more crumbling from the coconut.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About jeninher30s

A writer and procrastinator.

2 responses to “Coconut and Chocolate Chip Cake: A quick and easy recipe to soothe a pregnancy craving”

  1. Charisma says :

    I love the combination of this cake, as well as the fact that it looks great! All light and fluffy looking! Definitely want to give it a try! I guess you’re lucky its not a bad combination for pregnancy, I’ve heard worse! Great cake.

    • jeninher30s says :

      Since it’s all dump it in and mix it together, it made it even better. As much as I love doing all sorts of fussy-all-day-in-the-kitchen baking, there’s something so nice about being able to get something ready and in the oven during a TV ad break!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 707 other followers

